Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working.

Pablo Picasso

Our facilities and resources

4Artrooms
1ICT Room
13 equipped Macs
suppliesauxiliary art supplies such as a variety of drawing tools, brushes,…
Acrilic and oil paint
Pastel and charcoal
moreSet of hand tools for manual work such as saws, limes, chisels, hammers,…
Canvas-making equipment
Easels
Clay and kiln
7creative and passionate teachers

 

WHO WE ARE

The arts at LML are an excellent way for students to explore and express themselves. The arts are also crucial for developing creative thinking and problem solving skills that will serve our students far beyond their years at LML. Our aim is to develop a deeper understanding and appreciation of the subject by encouraging involvement in the process of making and using various art forms to communicate ideas creatively.

 

OUR PHILOSOPHY

Generally speaking, our philosophy is to teach students that “art” is part of their daily lives. As a result, our main goal is to improve their perception of an image-marked culture by developing their reflective, analytical and understanding skills in art, images and their impact. In addition, our course focuses on the development and stimulation of creative thinking. Another part of our teaching is to accompany students who wish to take an artistic path after the 5th grade: We offer them a course where they are supported in the preparation of their application for the artistic sections.

 

OUR HIGHLIGHT

The culminating annual event is the End of Year Art & Design exhibition, which showcases stunning work of the GCSE, AS and A Level students. The event is the highlight of the year for every art student, as talent and effort are being showcased to the school community and public.

 

Whatever the artistic path and choices every art student will make, the experience is certain to be unique and enriching for every student who chooses to become part of the arts at LML.

WHAT WE OFFER

The Arts program at LML teaches students to:

Organize learning around the creative cycle—a dynamic, ongoing process of sensing, planning, creating and evaluating art, and one in which all the senses are involved
Use their creative energy, improve their communication skills, interact and reflect
Develop as artists—who are able to learn new skills and target the areas that need development
Appreciate and critically access the creations of the masters whose works have proved to be of enduring worth.

LYCÉE MICHEL LUCIUS

The art education classes at lower level at LML are focused on observational skills, creativity/creation and reflection, as formulated in the official program of the Ministry of Education. At higher level, art classes are taken as an option. Curriculums and textbooks are updated annually and can be found on the Ministry of National Education & Youth website (timetable and programs).

In class, individual or group projects are often inspired by current topics, adapted to the age and level of the students and developed according to the skills and requirements of the respective programs, while reflecting ideas and artistic milestones from the past and contemporary world.

New media and technologies are being incorporated into and enrich the curriculum, but freehand drawing and manual work remain predominant.

Students are led to develop their imagination and their ability to express themselves. They are encouraged to develop their personality and their independence through their artistic creation.

This being said, the art classes are not just a simple drawing course, but also a course that helps the students to become responsible citizens. The role of the teacher consists, among other things, in listening, advising, supporting and encouraging students throughout the different steps of their learning process. This also entails drawing students’ attention to different aspects of daily life: to teach them patience, to respect their material and their classroom, to carefully read instructions and develop their organizational and time management skills.

INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL MICHEL LUCIUS

All students take art classes during their first three years of secondary school with 1.5 to 2 art lessons per week depending on the year. After this, students who chose art for their GCSE levels (4IEC & 3IEC) continue with 3 art lessons per week and 6 art lessons for the AS and A Levels (2IEC & 1IEC).

7IEC to 5IEC

In the first years of Art, students develop two major aspects: technical skills and creative skills. The technical skills focus on the capabilities of the student to create works of the highest possible quality through learning and practicing of several traditional and modern techniques. The creative skills focus on the autonomous development of concepts through guided investigation. Students learn how to develop personal ideas through the methods of brainstorming, collecting images, adapting their progress, and realising truly original outcomes. They are encouraged to express their opinion through critical thinking and self-reflection.

GCSE levels and AS & A-level

Learning is project-based and students learn to develop their critical thinking by brainstorming and investigating concepts and themes. Students examine contextual sources by researching art practitioners, visit art museums, discover local and foreign art forms and aesthetic values. They are also encouraged to identify particular creative abilities and to master several techniques appropriate to the personal themes that they choose to investigate in their later years of education.

The arts at LML emphasis on the personal development of the students, securing their knowledge and nurturing their curiosity with tailored guidance and support.

Meet our creative team

Joëlle Peters

Joëlle Peters

Sébastien Gil Bornatici

Sébastien Gil Bornatici

Diane Linden

Diane Linden

Martine Finetti

Martine Finetti

Lena Van Den Kerchove

Lena Van Den Kerchove

Anne Elvinger

Anne Elvinger

Linda Moutschen

Linda Moutschen

This post is also available in: French

L’inspiration existe, mais elle doit te trouver au travail.

Pablo Picasso

Our facilities and resources

4Artrooms
1ICT Room
13 equipped Macs
suppliesauxiliary art supplies such as a variety of drawing tools, brushes,…
Acrilic and oil paint
Pastel and charcoal
moreSet of hand tools for manual work such as saws, limes, chisels, hammers,…
Canvas-making equipment
Easels
Clay and kiln
7creative and passionate teachers

À PROPOS

L’art au LML est un excellent moyen d’exploration et d’expression pour les élèves. L’art est également crucial pour le développement d’une pensée créative et de compétences pour la résolution de problèmes qui serviront nos élèves au-delà de leurs années au LML. Notre but est de développer une profonde compréhension et appréciation du sujet en encourageant leur implication dans le processus de création et l’utilisation de diverses formes d’art afin de communiquer leurs idées.

 

NOTRE PHILISOPHIE

D’une manière générale, notre philosophie est d’apprendre aux élèves que « l’art » fait partie de leur vie quotidienne. De ce fait, notre but principal est d’améliorer leur perception d’une culture marquée par l’image en développant leurs compétences réflectives, analytiques et compréhensives de l’art, des images et de leur impact. De plus, notre cours est axé sur le développement et la stimulation de la pensée créative.

Un autre volet de notre enseignement est d’accompagner les élèves qui souhaitent emprunter une voie artistique après la 5e :Nous leur proposons un cours où ils sont épaulés dans la préparation de leur dossier de candidature pour les sections artistiques.

 

OUR HIGHLIGHT

L’évènement culminant est l’exposition “End of Year Art&Design exhibition” dans laquelle les élèves du GCSE, AS et A-level présentent leurs œuvres époustouflantes. L’évènement est le point fort de l’année pour les étudiants en art car il permet de montrer leur talent et leur dur labeur à toute la communauté scolaire et au grand publique.

Peu importe le chemin choisi par les élèves, l’expérience est certainement unique et enrichissante !

CE QUE NOUS TRANSMETTONS

Le programme artistique du LML apprend aux élèves à:

  • Organiser l’apprentissage autour du cycle créatif – un processus continu et dynamique de planification, création et évaluation de l’art faisant usage de tous les sens.
  • Utiliser leur énergie créative en améliorant leur communication, leurs interactions et leurs réflexions.
  • Se développer en tant qu’artiste qui est apte à apprendre de nouvelles compétences et à designer les domaines qui requièrent plus de développement.
  • Apprécier et à analyser les œuvres des maîtres de l’histoire de l’Art.

LYCÉE MICHEL LUCIUS

Le cours d‘éducation artistique du LML du cycle inférieur est un cours axé sur les compétences d’observation, de créativité/création et de réflexion tels que formulés dans le programme officiel du ministère de l‘éducation. Pour les classes du cycle supérieur l‘éducation artistique se présente uniquement sous forme de cours optionnels. Les programmes détaillés officiels et les manuels scolaires sont mis à jour chaque année et sont disponibles sur la page horaires et programmes du Ministère de l’Éducation Nationale et de la Jeunesse.

En classe, les projets individuels ou de groupe s‘inspirent souvent de sujets d’actualité, bien sûr adaptés à l‘âge et au niveau de l‘élève et combinés aux compétences et aux exigences du programme en vigueur, tout en reflétant les idées des repères artistiques du passé ou du monde contemporain.

Même si l‘enseignement artistique actuel s‘enrichit de par l’utilisation des nouveaux  édias, le dessin à main levée et les travaux manuels restent prédominants pendant les cours d’éducation artistique.

L’élève y est amené à développer son imagination et ses aptitudes à s‘exprimer. Il est en outre encouragé à développer sa personnalité et son autonomie à travers sa propre création.

Le cours d’éducation artistique ne se limite pas à un simple cours de dessin, mais se veut aussi un cours qui aide l‘élève à devenir un citoyen responsable: le rôle de l’enseignant consiste entre autres à écouter, conseiller, accompagner et encourager les élèves dans toutes leurs démarches. Cela signifie aussi d’attirer l’attention des élèves sur différents aspects de la vie quotidienne: de leur apprendre la patience, à respecter leur matériel et leur salle de classe, à bien lire les consignes, à savoir s‘organiser et à bien respecter les délais.

Programme 7G.
Programme 6G.
Programme 5G.

INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL MICHEL LUCIUS

Tous les élèves bénéficient de leçons d’éducation artistique pendant les 3 premières années d’enseignement secondaire avec 1,5 à 2 heures hebdomadaires (dépendant de l’année). Ensuite, les élèves qui choisissent l’art en GCSE (4IEC & 3IEC) continueront avec 3 heures par semaines et 6 heures pour le AS et A-level (2IEC & 1IEC)

7IEC to 5IEC

Pendant leurs premières années en arts, les élèves développent deux aspects majeurs : des compétences techniques et des compétences créatives. Les compétences techniques sont axées sur la capacité de l’élève à créer un projet de la plus haute qualité possible à travers l’apprentissage et la répétition de nombreuses techniques traditionnelles et modernes. Les compétences créatives se concentrent sur le développement autonome de concepts par le biais d’une recherche soutenue par le professeur. Les élèves apprennent comment développer une idée personnelle à travers les méthodes de brainstorming, collection d’images, adaptations du progrès et réalisation d’œuvres originales. Ils sont également encouragés à exprimer leurs opinions par le biais de réflexions critiques et d’autoévaluations.

GCSE levels and AS & A-level

L’apprentissage est basé sur des projets et les élèves développent leur pensée critique en passant par le brainstorming et l’investigation de concept et thèmes. Les élèves examinent des sources contextuelles en recherchant des artistes, visitant des musées, découvrant des formes d’art et esthétiques locales et étrangères. Ils sont également encouragés à développer des compétences créatives précises et à maîtriser de nombreuses techniques appropriées à leur thème personnel qu’ils choisissent de poursuivre pendant les prochaines années d’études.

L’art au LML met en avant le développement personnel des élèves en sécurisant leurs connaissances et en nourrissant leur curiosité grâce à un programme sur mesure.

 

Meet our creative team

Joëlle Peters

Joëlle Peters

Sébastien Gil Bornatici

Sébastien Gil Bornatici

Diane Linden

Diane Linden

Martine Finetti

Martine Finetti

Lena Van Den Kerchove

Lena Van Den Kerchove

Anne Elvinger

Anne Elvinger

Linda Moutschen

Linda Moutschen

This post is also available in: Anglais