The International GCSEs are qualifications that are recognised internationally and  are for students usually from 14 to 16 years of age. The classes Lycée Michel Lucius offer are designed to prepare students for the exams that lead to these qualifications. The exams are produced, assessed and awarded by an external awarding body, they can however be sat at our school.

GCSE stands for General Certificate of Secondary Education. At our school, we offer the International GCSEs which are an adaptation of the UK’s GCSEs (https://www.gov.uk/what-different-qualification-levels-mean).
These International GCSE qualifications are currently available in over 125 countries. The curricula of the individual subjects are designed in such a way that the students are taught to be inquisitive and to apply their knowledge to new situations. Furthermore, cultural awareness and English language skills are important parts of the International GCSEs.

What subjects do we offer?

Lycée Michel Lucius currently offers International GCSEs in English and English Literature, in French, German, Luxembourgish, Mathematics, Economics, Global Perspectives, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Geography, History, Music, Art and Computer Science.

As students, interested in our English classes, come from various educational backgrounds, we do not tend to separate them by age, but by academic ability, especially in English (as it is the vehicular language of all subjects) and mathematics (as it is an important subject). 
The 14 to 16 years of age is only considered as indication, students may be a bit younger or a bit older.

Why take the International GCSE?

The International GCSE is recognised around the world as a significant academic attainment. The main benefit of the International GCSE is that it prepares students for A-levels and the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. The curriculum in the different subjects is designed to encourage creative thinking, intellectual enquiry and problem solving – skills that increase students’ ability to succeed to the next level of their education.

How is the International GCSE different from the UK GCSE?

The International GCSE meets the same high academic standards as the UK GCSE and is recognised around the world as equivalent. The main difference is that International GCSEs are specifically designed for international students and are also considered to more flexible. Many consider International GCSEs in certain subjects, such as mathematics and science, to be more rigorous.

Grades and assessments

Students take written examinations at the end of the two years, which are externally assessed and graded. Students receive grades from A*, the highest, to G, the lowest grade.

What happens after the International GCSE?

After taking International GCSEs, most students go on to pursue their A-levels. Students who have mastered International GCSEs are highly knowledgeable about a number of academic subjects and have learned to be motivated and independent learners who can perform well in examinations. These skills are valuable at university and prepare students to excel in the global community.

This post is also available in: French

Les GCSE internationaux sont des diplômes reconnus au niveau international et s’adressent aux étudiants généralement âgés de 14 à 16 ans. Les classes du Lycée Michel Lucius sont conçues pour préparer les élèves aux examens qui conduisent à ces qualifications. Les examens sont produits, évalués et décernés par un organisme extérieur, ils peuvent cependant être passés dans notre école.

GCSE signifie « General Certificate of Secondary Education ». Dans notre école, nous proposons les GCSEs internationaux qui sont une adaptation des GCSEs britanniques (https://www.gov.uk/what-different-qualification-levels-mean).
Ces qualifications GCSEs internationaux sont actuellement disponibles dans plus de 125 pays. Les programmes des différentes matières sont conçus de manière à ce que les élèves apprennent à être curieux et à appliquer leurs connaissances à des situations nouvelles. En outre, la conscience culturelle et les compétences en anglais sont des éléments importants des GCSEs internationaux.

Quels sujets proposons-nous ?

Le Lycée Michel Lucius propose actuellement des GCSE internationaux en anglais et littérature anglaise, en français, allemand, luxembourgeois, mathématiques, économie, perspectives globales, biologie, chimie, physique, géographie, histoire, musique, art et informatique.

Comme les élèves, intéressés par nos classes internationales anglophones, viennent de différents milieux éducatifs, nous avons tendance à ne pas les séparer par âge, mais par capacité scolaire, surtout en anglais (car c’est la langue véhiculaire de toutes les matières) et en mathématiques (car c’est une matière importante).
L’âge de 14 à 16 ans n’est considéré qu’à titre indicatif, les élèves peuvent être un peu plus jeunes ou un peu plus âgés.

Pourquoi prendre le GCSE International ?

Le GCSE international est reconnu dans le monde entier comme une réussite académique significative. Le principal avantage du GCSE international est qu’il prépare les étudiants au A-Levels et au programme du diplôme du baccalauréat international. Le programme d’études dans les différentes matières est conçu pour encourager la pensée créative, la recherche intellectuelle et la résolution de problèmes – des compétences qui augmentent la capacité des élèves à réussir au niveau suivant de leur éducation.

En quoi le GCSE international est-il différent du GCSE britannique ?

Le GCSE international répond aux mêmes normes académiques élevées que le GCSE britannique et est reconnu dans le monde entier comme équivalent. La principale différence est que les GCSEs internationaux sont spécialement conçus pour les étudiants internationals et sont également considérés comme plus flexibles. Ils sont considérés d’être plus rigoureux dans certaines matières, comme les mathématiques et les sciences.

Notes et évaluations

Les étudiants passent des examens écrits à la fin des deux années, qui font l’objet d’une évaluation et d’une notation externes. Les élèves reçoivent des notes allant de A*, la note la plus élevée, à G, la note la plus basse.

Que se passe-t-il après le GCSE international ?

Après avoir obtenu un GCSE international, la plupart des étudiants poursuivent leurs études jusqu’au A-Level. Les étudiants qui maîtrisent les GCSEs internationaux sont très bien informés sur un certain nombre de sujets académiques et ont appris à être motivés et indépendants pour bien réussir aux examens. Ces compétences sont précieuses à l’université et préparent les étudiants à exceller dans la communauté mondiale.

This post is also available in: Anglais