Advanced-Level or also know as A-Levels are internationally recognised university entrance examinations and are usually offered to students between ages of 17 and 19 years of age. The classes Lycée Michel Lucius offer are designed to prepare students for the exams that lead to these qualifications. Just like the GCSE exams, these exams are also produced, assessed and awarded by an external awarding body, but are also sat at our school. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A-level)

The classes, as well as, the exams are open to those who are proficient in English and wishing to obtain a university entrance qualification in English. All applicants will have to sit an entry exam in English and in other subjects they wish to study to determine eligibility.

What subjects do we offer ?

Lycée Michel Lucius currently offers AS- and A-levels in English Language & Literature, French, German, Mathematics, Economics, Business, Global Perspectives, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Geography, History, Psychology, Music, Art and Computer Science.

As with the international GCSEs, we do not tend to seperate students by age, but by academic ability, therefore, the age group of 17 to 19 year olds is only considered as indication, students may be a bit younger or a bit older.

Grades and assessments

Students take written examinations at the end of the two years, which are externally assessed and graded. Students receive grades from A*, the highest, to G, the lowest grade.

What happens after the A-Level ?

After taking A-Levels, most students go on to pursue their education at university. Students who have mastered A-Levels are highly knowledgeable about a number of academic subjects, especially the subjects they chose to study during their last years at secondary school. Many consider their last year to be similar as the first at university, this is due to the fact they study only few subjects but therefore are seen in great detail.

This post is also available in: French

Le Advanced-Level, aussi connu sous le nom de A-Levels, sont des examens d’entrée à l’université reconnus au niveau international et sont généralement offerts aux étudiants âgés entre 17 et 19 ans. Les classes du Lycée Michel Lucius sont conçues pour préparer les élèves aux examens qui conduisent à ces qualifications. Tout comme les examens du GCSE, ces examens sont également produits, évalués et délivrés par un organisme extérieur, mais passés dans notre école. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A-level)

Les cours, ainsi que les examens, sont ouverts à ceux qui maîtrisent l’anglais et qui souhaitent obtenir un diplôme d’entrée à l’université en anglais. Tous les candidats intéressés devront passer un examen d’admission en anglais et dans d’autres matières qu’ils souhaitent étudier pour déterminer leur admissibilité.

Quels sujets proposons-nous ?

Le Lycée Michel Lucius propose actuellement les AS- et A-Levels en langue et littérature anglaises, français, allemand, mathématiques, économie, commerce, perspectives mondiales, biologie, chimie, physique, géographie, histoire, psychologie, musique, art et informatique.

Comme pour les GCSE internationaux, nous n’avons pas tendance à séparer les étudiants par âge, mais par niveau d’études, du coup, le groupe d’âge des 17 à 19 ans n’est considéré que comme une indication, les étudiants peuvent être un peu plus jeunes ou un peu plus âgés.

Notes et évaluations

Les étudiants passent des examens écrits à la fin des deux années, qui font l’objet d’une évaluation et d’une notation externes. Les élèves reçoivent des notes allant de A*, la note la plus élevée, à G, la note la plus basse.

Que se passe-t-il après le A-Level ?

Après le A-Level, la plupart des étudiants poursuivent leurs études à l’université. Les élèves qui maîtrisent les A-Levels sont très bien informés sur un certain nombre de sujets académiques, en particulier celles qu’ils ont choisi d’étudier au cours de leurs dernières années d’études secondaires. Beaucoup considèrent que leur dernière année est similaire à la première à l’université, ceci est dû au fait qu’ils n’étudient que peu de matières mais qu’ils sont donc vus de façon très détaillée.

This post is also available in: Anglais